top of page
  • Alissa Isenhath

So, Who the Hell is Alissa Isenhath, VR Content Marketer?

Disclaimer: This email is NOT a sales pitch. I’m writing this because if you have the need for a content writer, you should know something about me. I’d like for you to be able to decide for yourself if I’d be a good fit for your organization. Don't take my word for it. 

So, *deep breath*, here we go. 

You already know my name. Let me tell you who I am. 

I have been writing since I was a young child. Journals, stories, poems (not good ones). Just for fun. Not even for class assignments. 

I’ve taken a few writing classes in school, but I’m not an “educated” writer. I write from my heart and my gut and that can’t be taught. 

I’m good at it. I’m not saying that to brag. Some people are good at sports, some people are good at math. I’m good at writing. 

I also love real estate. Always have. When I was 10 years old, (yes, 10!), I used to read the New York Times Real Estate section cover to cover every Sunday. 

I knew what all the abbreviations meant, I knew which areas of New York City were nice and which weren’t and I knew what a good price was for any given apartment. 

I remember reading ads to my parents and being absolutely incredulous when I found an ad for someone selling a private island for $1 million dollars. 

Maybe I was a weird kid. I don’t know. 

I also loved cars (I still do). When I was a teenager, my family lived on a main road (in East Brunswick, NJ, my hometown).

My dad and I used to sit on the couch and watch the cars go by. Between us, we knew the make and model of every single car that drove by. 

One time, we saw someone driving an old junker Renault Le Car and they had spray painted “Le Heap” on the side. We got a big kick out of that. 

Years later, I surprised the hell out of my next door neighbor on the Outer Banks when I knew that the car in his backyard was an AMC Javelin and not an old Chevy Camaro. 

My other great love is animals and animal advocacy and rescue. I am a self-confessed “crazy cat lady”, but I truly love all animals. 

I used to work as a property inspector and can’t tell you how many heartbreaking situations of abuse and neglect I regularly came across. 

I have called the police and animal control more times that I can count. I have rescued many animals from abhorrent situations and even ended up keeping several of them. (Yes, I’m a sucker for a cute face…)

I've seriously considered creating an Instagram account for my amazingly gifted orange tabby, Angus. 

I’ve moved 34 times in my life. Yes, 34!! And I’ve lived in 7 different states, including a short stint in Hawaii. 

My superpower is listening, particularly to the words not spoken. I hear so much in silences. 

One of my dreams is to spend one month in each of the 50 states. (So, I’ve got 42 left to go - I spent a month in another state a few years ago.) Oh, and to go on an African safari. 

The longest I’ve ever stayed anywhere is where I am right now. I’ve been in my home in Brunswick, GA 11+ years - and I’m itching to get out.

I don’t know where I’m going yet, but I know that I’m beyond ready for a new adventure. Maybe even out of the country. 

I think vacations are a balm for the soul. 

We need time away from our routines to just enjoy whatever aspect of nature (whether its beach, mountains, lakes, rivers, etc.) that centers us. We need new experiences, broader perspectives, and sometimes just a different landscape. 

I spent 10 years working in vacation rental offices (wanna trade stories?). Five years on the Outer Banks and 5 years on St. Simons Island in Georgia. 

I took reservations. I signed new properties. I stuck mailing labels on brochures (remember them??). I wrote all the business correspondence and all the advertising copy. I took pictures. I developed websites. I dealt with cranky guests and pissy owners. I also met some really cool people (and dogs) and had some great experiences. 

I feel that, while I may not have seen it all, I’ve seen most of the good, the bad and the downright ugly. I’m strongly resisting the urge to tell one of my favorite stories right now.  

But did you ever notice that the best stories come from shoulder season guests?

Seriously, I get what you do on a really deep level. And I have a lot of compassion and empathy for how hard it is sometimes. 

I also get that there’s fun and joy in this work, too. There’s nothing better than a big hug from a really happy guest on their way out or the owner who was fully booked for the season.

I also know that while technology has helped you in a lot of ways, it’s also made your job that much harder. It’s made the owners more demanding. And it creates more work for your and your staff. 

So, there’s that. 

After I left the day-to-day world of vacation rentals, I was still involved peripherally. I helped a friend set up her VR business, choose her software and then taught her how to do monthly statements (yuck). 

I created a few websites and did marketing work for a few clients. 

And lots of writing. I think I have probably written 1,000 property descriptions (I mean that  literally) over the years. I can tell you in almost countless ways that any given property is the best one in the world. 

That’s why I chose content marketing for the vacation rental industry. It’s where I’ve been. It’s what I know. It combines two of my great loves, writing and real estate. 

Mostly, I really want to be of service to busy property managers who are tired of trying to do it all themselves. I get your struggles. I’m here for you. 

I passionately believe in the #BookDirect initiative. For several reasons. 

First, only an on-site management firm can truly provide complete service to its owners and guests. 

If you’re booking from off-site owners or an OTA, what are you going to do when the toilet stops up with not a plunger in sight or the hot water heater bursts in the middle of the night? 

Second, on-site management firms are ambassadors to their respective areas. When I was on the Outer Banks, one of my favorite things to do was talk to guests about the hidden out-of-the-way restaurants that only the locals know about.

The places that aren’t written up in the “area guides”. Off-site owners or OTAs are NOT going to know about that awesome little burger drive-in right across from the beach access. 

Third, I always route for the underdog. I always want to see David beat Goliath. 

The OTAs are taking business away from the smaller firms that have been in the trenches for years and it really pisses me off. 

It feels weird to talk so much about myself. Marketing principles always tell you to focus on your client and their needs. 

But, if you’re anything like me, I want to know who I’m dealing with beyond a photo, a logo and a sales pitch. Do I like you? Do I trust you? Do you care about the same things I do? Do we have anything in common? 

And quite honestly, the people I want to work with care about these things, too. 

I also really want to talk to you about my #RadicalHonesty initiative, but I’m afraid I’ve already fried your eyeballs for today, so I’ll leave that for my next email message. 

Suffice it to say, it’s something that I don’t think anyone is thinking about, but they should be and no one that I’ve been able to find is deploying any of its principles right now. 

Maybe we can start something new together. 

Until next time. 

Thanks so much for reading. 

Alissa

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page